6 Ekim 2012 Cumartesi

Baby Naming Issue: Lucy vs. Lucie

To contact us Click HERE
M. writes:
If we were to go with Lucille we are thinking about possibly going with “Lucie” instead of “Lucy”.  It is funny that I think this because I always lean towards the traditional spelling of names.  However, there is something about the spelling with the “ie” that just seems softer and more feminine.  The “y” ending just seems a little bit harsher to me.  However, I don’t want people to think that I came up with some funky spelling to be unique or different.  I also don’t want to give her a name that she has to spell for people her whole life. 

Until recently, I would have said that Lucy seemed like the basic spelling to me, and that Lucie seemed like it would cause more spelling hassles than I would want to deal with. But then recently we did a post on Tilly vs. Tillie, and  there was quite a bit of interesting discussion in the comments section that made me wonder if we might be on a pendulum swing from -y endings to -ie endings.

Also, I think it's different with a nickname than with a given name: I'm not surprised to encounter girls with the nicknames Maddy and Maddie and Madi. Since you'd have spelled the full version the traditional way, it's less likely to seem like you were trying to get unique-y with the nickname. And as she gets older, more and more often people will assume SHE was the one who chose the spelling of the nickname. (And indeed, she may change to a different spelling.) With nicknames, I think of the spelling as being less official, more open to change and choice.

The poll of the Tilly/Tillie post might not be of any use to this situation, since the question there was a different one. So let's start a new poll over to the right---and because it was hard to represent the entire topic in a poll, we can discuss in more detail in the comments section.


[Edit: Here's a screenshot of what the first six votes did:


I thought that was funny/neat!]

Hiç yorum yok:

Yorum Gönder